Liam Plunkett unsure of touring Bangladesh

prv_b95ab_1472484301Days after England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed England’s tour of Bangladesh in October, Liam Plunkett has stated that he is yet to make the decision if he would get on the flight for it. Bangladesh has witnessed a spate of terrorist attacks in the recent past, with Australia deciding against sending their Test team for a two-match series last October and following up by withdrawing their Under-19 team for the World Cup in January-February this year.

After some deliberation, and a meeting last Thursday, the England board decided to go ahead with the tour, based on the advice of the delegation led by security advisor Reg Dickason that visited the Asian country for an inspection.

“People are just digesting what went on in the meeting and I will have a bit more of a think once the (Pakistan) series is done,” Plunkett said on Monday (August 29), the eve of the third ODI against Pakistan. “Maybe I will speak to a few more people but I trust Reg and what he says and I will have another look after the series.

Plunkett, who made a comeback to the ODI side in June 2016 after a year’s hiatus, will be a in for the three limited-overs fixture, scheduled to be played on October 7, 9 and 12 in Mirpur and Chittagong. The 31-year-old has stated that his final decision will be based on conversation he has with his family.

“You pick up a paper and there’s trouble everywhere in the world so I don’t know but I’ll speak to my family once the series is done, have a good think, look into it a bit more and come up with a decision,” he said.

“I know the environment in Bangladesh and I know what it’s like. I’ve travelled in the sub-continent quite a lot so I’ve got a few more questions to ask and I’ll finalise my judgement and come up with a decision then.”

While captain Eoin Morgan categorically stated that no player will be forced to go on any tour, referring to Bangladesh, Andrew Strauss, the director of cricket, has hoped a full-strength squad will be available for the trip.

Leave a Reply

