Chandimal to skipper Sri Lanka in T20 series vs Australia

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Dinesh Chandimal will lead a 14-man squad in the absence of injured captain Angelo Mathews in the two-match T20 series against Australia, starting from Tuesday in Pallekele.

Dinesh Chandimal of Sri LankaSeamer Kasun Rajitha, who made his debut in the bilateral T20 series against India in February, has been retained in the squad against Steve Smith’s side.

Rajitha and Suranga Lakmal are the only specialist seamers in the squad, with Nuwan Kulasekara overlooked once again, cricket updates reported.

All-rounders Thisara Perera and Milinda Siriwardana, batsman Chamara Kapugedara and spinner Sachithra Senanayake have also got the nod to face Australia.

Meanwhile, batsmen Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella and all-rounder Ramith Rambukwella have all been dropped for the two-match series.

The series will also mark Tillakaratne Dilshan’s final outing in international cricket.

The T20 squad is as follows:

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dananjaya de Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana, Kusal Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s